IPL - Indian Premier League T20 2017

VIVO IPL 2017 Purple Cap Holder, Leading Wicket Taker in Indian Premier League T20

VIVO IPL 2017 Purple Cap Holder, Leading Wicket Taker in IPL – Indian Premier League 10th Season

The Purple Cap is an annual cricket award presented to the leading wicket taker in the Indian Premier League Twenty20 tournament.

The bowler with most wickets in the tournament during the course of the season would wear the Purple Cap while fielding.

Overall leading wicket-taker at the conclusion of the tournament winning the actual Purple Cap award on the day of the season’s final. In case of a tie, the bowler with superior economy rate would hold the Purple Cap.

In the circumstance where two or more bowlers have taken the same number of wickets during the season to date, the Purple Cap will be retained or awarded, as appropriate, to the bowler (of those who are tied) who has the lowest economy rate during the season to date.

Ajit Agarkar became the first player to wear the Purple Cap and Sohail Tanvir became the first winner of the award.

VIVO IPL T20 2017 Purple Cap Holder, List of Highest Wicket Taker in IPL – Indian Premier League

Pos Player Matches Wickets
1 Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Winner)
14 26
2 Jaydev Unadkat
12 24
3 Jasprit Bumrah 16 20

IPL – Indian Premier League Purple Cap Previous Year Winners

Season Player Matches Wickets
2016 Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH) 17 23
2015 Dwayne Bravo (CSK) 16 24
2014 Mohit Sharma (CSK) 16 23
2013 Dwayne Bravo (CSK) 18 32
2012 Morne Morkel (DD) 16 25
2011 Lasith Malinga (MI) 16 28
2010 Pragyan Ojha (DC) 16 21
2009 R. P. Singh (DC) 16 23
2008 Sohail Tanvir (RR) 11 22

Awards won by team

  • Chennai Super Kings- 3
  • Deccan Chargers- 2
  • Rajasthan Royals- 1
  • Mumbai Indians- 1
  • Delhi Daredevils- 1
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad- 1

Also Read: VIVO IPL 2017 Orange Cap HolderIPL 2017 Maximum Sixes Award

To Top