South Africa ODI Squad Announced for Series Against Sri Lanka, 2017

South Africa ODI Squad Announced for Series Against Sri Lanka, 2017

South Africa named 15-member ODI squad for five matches series against Sri Lanka starting from January 28 at  Port Elizabeth.

AB de Villiers is back in the South Africa national side and returns as player and captain of the South Africa squad for the first three One Day Internationals (ODIs) of the five-match series against Sri Lanka.

Chris Morris also returns to the squad after recovering from a knee injury. AB De Villiers was also included in the squad for the third T20I.

Speed star Dale Steyn and Morne Morkel could not part of squad because of their injuries, Lungi Ngidi has been rewarded for his excellent form in the current KFC T20 International Series and gets maiden ODI call-up in the 50 overs format.

Abbott and Russouw have signed Kolpak deals with Hampshire, making them ineligible for national team selection. Talented players like Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Kesh Maharaj and Dwaine Pretorius selected for first three ODI matches.

South Africa squad for first three ODIs: AB de Villiers (c), Faf du Plessis, Hashim Amla, David Miller, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Imran Tahir, Kagiso Rabada, Chris Morris, Wayne Parnell, Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Tabraiz Shamsi

South Africa Five ODI Matches Schedule
January 28, 2017 – 1st ODI at St. George’s Park, Port Elizabeth
February 1, 2017 – 2nd ODI at Kingsmead, Durban
February 4, 2107 – 3rd ODI at Wanderers, Johannesburg
February 7, 2017 – 4th ODI at Newlands, Cape Town
February 10, 2017 – 5th ODI at SuperSport Park, Centurion

To Top