ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2018

India beat Australia by Eight Wickets to Clinch 4th Under-19 World Cup Title

India beat Australia by Eight Wickets to Clinch 4th Under-19 World Cup Title

Indian cricket team lifts 4th under-19 cricket world cup as they register a comfortable eight-wicket win over Australia in the Under-19 Cricket World Cup final at Tauranga in New Zealand. After winning the toss, Australian side decided to bat first in the high-pressure game, Australia was bowled out for 216 in 47.2 overs, all-rounder Jonathan Merlo scored 76 runs off 102 balls which included six fours. In reply, a 71-run opening partnership between Prithvi Shaw and Kalra set the tone, all-rounder Will Sutherland clean bowled the Indian skipper for 29 in the 12th over.

Kalra and Shubman Gill added 60 runs for the second wicket, their partnership cut short when Param Uppal bowled the Shubnam Gill for 31 off 30 balls. Wicket-keeper Harvik Desai unbeaten 47 off 63 providing the perfect support for Kalra’s fluent century.

Manjot Kalra wins player of the match award for his splendid knock and Shubman Gill named the player of the tournament; he scored 372 runs in the ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup 2018.

India beats Pakistan by 203 runs to enter into the final; this one is India’s sixth World Cup final appearance and 4th world cup title.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced huge prize money for the winning team and staff as well. Indian U19 Head coach and former skipper Rahul Dravid will get Rs 50 lakh as prize money, each member of the team will get Rs 20 lakh while members of the Support Staff will get Rs 20 lakh each.

Australia Playing XI: Max Bryant, Jack Edwards, Jason Sangha (c), Jonathan Merlo, Param Uppal, Nathan McSweeney, Will Sutherland, Baxter Holt (wk), Zak Evans, Ryan Hadley, Lloyd Pope

India Playing XI: Prithvi Shaw (c), Manjot Kalra, Shubman Gill, Harvik Desai (wk), Riyan Parag, Abhishek Sharma, Anukul Roy, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Shivam Mavi, Shiva Singh, Ishan Porel

To Top