IPL - Indian Premier League T20 2018

IPL 2018 Purple Cap Holder, IPL – Indian Premier League T20 2018

IPL 2018 Purple Cap Holder, Leading Wicket Taker in IPL – Indian Premier League T20 2018

The Purple Cap is an annual cricket award presented to the leading wicket taker in the Indian Premier League Twenty20 tournament.

Awards won by the team

  • Chennai Super Kings- 3
  • Deccan Chargers- 2
  • Rajasthan Royals- 1
  • Mumbai Indians- 1
  • Delhi Daredevils- 1
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad- 2

The bowler with most wickets in the tournament during the course of the season would wear the Purple Cap while fielding. Overall leading wicket-taker at the conclusion of the tournament winning the actual Purple Cap award on the day of the season’s final. In case of a tie, the bowler with superior economy rate would hold the Purple Cap.

In the circumstance where two or more bowlers have taken the same number of wickets during the season to date, the Purple Cap will be retained or awarded, as appropriate, to the bowler (of those who are tied) who has the lowest economy rate during the season to date.

Ajit Agarkar became the first player to wear the Purple Cap, and Sohail Tanvir became the first winner of the award.

VIVO IPL T20 2018 Purple Cap Holder

Pos Player Matches Wickets
1 Andrew Tye 14 24

IPL – Indian Premier League Purple Cap Previous Year Winners

Season Player Matches Wickets
2017 Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH) 14 26
2016 Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH) 17 23
2015 Dwayne Bravo (CSK) 16 24
2014 Mohit Sharma (CSK) 16 23
2013 Dwayne Bravo (CSK) 18 32
2012 Morne Morkel (DD) 16 25
2011 Lasith Malinga (MI) 16 28
2010 Pragyan Ojha (DC) 16 21
2009 R. P. Singh (DC) 16 23
2008 Sohail Tanvir (RR) 11 22
To Top