Cricket Archives

Indian Women Team Squad for ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2017

Indian Women Team Squad for ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2017

The Indian squad for the 2017 ICC Women’s World Cup to be held in England was announced on Monday with Mithali Raj was named skipper of the squad comprising of 15 members.

Opener Smriti Mandhana, who had picked up a serious knee injury during the WBBL 2016 also makes a comeback to the side, replacing Devika Vaidya.

India only made one change to the 15-member squad that is currently playing an ODI quadrangular in South Africa, with Mandhana replacing Devika Vaidya.

They retained the same group of players otherwise, with two wicketkeepers in Sushma Verma and Nuzhat Parween, who made her ODI debut against Ireland during the quadrangular.

India will begin their World Cup campaign on June 24, when they take on hosts England in Derby. The eight teams will play each other once, with the top four going through to the semi-finals. Lord’s will host the final on July 23.

India ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 Team Squad: Mithali Raj (c), Harmanpreet Kaur, Veda Krishnamurthy, Mona Meshram, Deepti Sharma, Poonam Raut, Jhulan Goswami, Shikha Pandey, Ekta Bisht, Nuzhat Parween (wk), Sushma Verma (wk), Mansi Joshi, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Poonam Yadav, Smriti Mandhana

To Top