India vs Afghanistan Only Test Match : Preview

India vs Afghanistan Only Test Match : Preview, Squads

India v Afghanistan only test match from June 14 to June 18 at M.Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru; the game starts at 04:00 AM GMT. The Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) announced a 16-player squad for the historic one-off Test against India, Asghar Stanikzai has been named as the skipper, and the team features five spinners – Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Zahir Khan and left-arm spinner Hamza Hotak.

Afghanistan will play their first ever Test match against India on Thursday and attempt to become the first side since Australia in 1877 to win their inaugural Test match. The Afghans have a team loaded with spinners in Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Zahir Khan and left-arm spinner Hamza Hotak. The team will be high on confidence after clean sweeping Bangladesh in a three-match T20I series.

Indian pace bowler Mohammed Shami has failed to clear the fitness test at the NCA in Bengaluru ahead of India’s one-off Test against Afghanistan, He is one of the most experienced and important members in India’s pace attack. BCCI selectors named Delhi seamer Navdeep Saini as his replacement. Karun Nair and Kuldeep Yadav have been also included in the 15-man squad for the one-off Test against Afghanistan.

Ajinkya Rahane will lead the side in the absence of regular skipper Virat Kohli, The selectors have rested Rohit Sharma ahead of India’s tour of Ireland and England. India’s regular Test wicketkeeper-batsman Wriddhiman Saha has been ruled

India Test Squad: Ajinkya Rahane (c), Cheteshwar Pujara, Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Karun Nair, Ravichandran Ashwin, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Shardul Thakur, Dinesh Karthik, Navdeep Saini

Afghanistan Test Squad: Asghar Stanikzai (c), Mohammad Shahzad, Ihsanullah Janat, Javed Ahmadi, Rahmat Shah, Nasir Jamal, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Afsar Zazai, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Zahir Khan, Amir Hamza, Sayed Shirzad, Yamin Ahmadzai, Wafadar

Match Details

Date June 14 – June 18, 2018
Match Afghanistan vs India, Only Test
Venue M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru
Time 04:00 AM GMT, 09:30 AM IST
Head to Head
So far no head to head meeting
To Top