GL - T20 Global League 2017

GDL – Global Destination League T20 Search for Team Owners Moves Into 2nd Stage

GDL – Global Destination League T20 Search for Team Owners Moves Into 2nd Stage

T20 Global Destination League also known as GDL is a planned Twenty20 cricket tournament to be held in South Africa. GDL – Global Destination League T20 League will be an eight team tournament and will be independent of the Ram Slam T20 Challenge. The inaugural edition is planned to be played in season 2017–18 in months of November–December.

Previously Cricket South Africa (CSA) set a deadline of 3 March 2017 to express interest to own and operate the team.

More than 150 Expressions of Interest were received by the time Friday’s deadline expired, While there was significant interest shown from the UK, USA and the UAE, the majority of interest from South Africa with 39% and India with 35% of the expressions received.

Interested persons will have until 15 April 2017 to submit their bids to own one of the eight City based teams.

As the next stage in the search for Franchise Team Owners in the T20 Global Destination League unfolds, Cricket South Africa’s (CSA) Chief Executive, Haroon Lorgat expressed his delight after observing the global interest shown by potential owners to be a part of the historic new South African T20 Global Destination League.

The teams will be based on six cities Pretoria, Durban, Port Elizabeth, Bloemfontein, Cape Town and Johannesburg, where the last two are most probable to have two teams each.

South Africa’s GDL – Global Destination League T20 planned to provide international plate form to star players and find new talent in cricket like Indian Premier League (IPL).

To Top