GL - T20 Global League 2017

CSA announce international marquee players for T20 Global Destination League

Cricket South Africa announce international marquee players for the new T20 Global Destination League

CSA today named the eight international marquee players who will be representing the various franchises in the first two years of the T20 Global Destination League which gets underway later this year.

The eight international marquee players will be entered into a mini-draft with the highest bidding franchise owner having first pick and the rest following the same process.

The marquee international players who have all agreed playing league contracts with CSA are

  1. Dwayne Bravo (West Indies)
  2. Chris Gayle (West Indies)
  3. Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka)
  4. Brendon McCullum (New Zealand)
  5. Eoin Morgan (England)
  6. Kevin Pietersen (England)
  7. Kieron Pollard (West Indies)
  8. Jason Roy (England)

Each franchise team will also be allocated a Proteas marquee player.

Kevin Pietersen said “I am delighted to have signed for the new Global Destination T20 tournament in South Africa. South Africa, as everyone knows, is very close to my heart. So being a part of something innovative in their cricketing structure really excites me. I am sure the public will support this wonderful creation which will showcase a lot of the world’s best players.”

Chris Gayle Said “I look forward to returning to South Africa as I have very happy memories of my time there. This included scoring the first ever century in T20 International cricket when the inaugural ICC World Twenty20 was held in South Africa in 2007.”

Jason Roy Tweeted “Extremely happy to have signed up!! Exciting times ahead”.

Eoin  Morgan Tweeted “Delighted to have signed. The potential for this tournament is huge. Very excited”.

Brendon McCullum Said: “I very much enjoy the conditions in South Africa and it was an easy decision to make myself available for this tournament. I enjoy the way South Africans play the game and the way their fans interact with the players as well.”

T20 Global Destination League also known as GDL is a planned Twenty20 cricket tournament to be held in South Africa. GDL – Global Destination League T20 League will be an eight team tournament and will be independent of the Ram Slam T20 Challenge. The inaugural edition is planned to be played in season 2017–18 in months of November–December.

To Top